Brandon Mysliwiec Contact
PrecisePepResearch Library

Research information only. PrecisePep is an educational library. It is not medical advice and is not intended to assist, encourage or enable self-administration. The compounds documented here are research chemicals — most are not approved for human use. Read the full disclaimer.

PrecisePep/Blends & Stacks/Tesamorelin + Ipamorelin

Growth Hormone Blend

Tesamorelin + Ipamorelin

Tesa/Ipa · tesamorelin-ipamorelin stack · GHRH + GHRP pairing

The same two-receptor architecture as the CJC pairing, with one difference that matters more than the rest of the page: the GHRH half is an approved drug with phase 3 data, a label, and a required monitoring protocol.

GHRH + GHRPOne half approvedVisceral fatIGF-1 monitoringFastedTiming matters

00 Overview

The interesting thing about this pairing is not the synergy, which it shares with the CJC version. It is that half of it is a real drug. Tesamorelin is approved as Egrifta for HIV-associated lipodystrophy, with phase 3 trials, a prescribing label, defined contraindications and a stated monitoring requirement. Ipamorelin has none of those and was rejected by the FDA's compounding advisory committee in October 2024.

That asymmetry is the whole reason to read this page rather than the CJC one. Everything the approved half proves is proved for tesamorelin alone, at a labelled dose, in a specific population, for a specific endpoint — reduction of excess visceral adipose tissue in people with HIV-associated lipodystrophy. It does not transfer to the combination, to a different population, or to the outcomes people actually pair these for.

The mechanism is the standard two-receptor argument and it is genuinely sound: a GHRH analogue presses the accelerator while a ghrelin mimetic releases the somatostatin brake, and combined administration produces GH responses two to three times greater than either agent alone. That is established endocrine pharmacology rather than inference, and it is the strongest study-tier claim supporting any combination on this site apart from CagriSema, which has actual trials of the combination itself.

What the approved half actually proves

Tesamorelin reduced visceral adipose tissue in HIV-associated lipodystrophy, which is a real result in a real trial programme. Note what it is not: it is not a body-composition result in healthy adults, not a strength or function result, and not a result for the combination. The label also requires IGF-1 monitoring and contraindicates active malignancy — requirements that exist because of what raising GH does, and which do not stop applying because the compound was bought from a research supplier.

// Mechanism of action

Two receptors, one pulse. Tesamorelin agonises the GHRH receptor on pituitary somatotrophs, driving GH synthesis and release. Ipamorelin agonises GHS-R1a, which both stimulates GH release directly and suppresses somatostatin — the inhibitory tone that otherwise caps the response. Pressing the accelerator while releasing the brake is why the combination is supra-additive rather than simply additive.

Why the half-lives matter. Tesamorelin clears in roughly 26–38 minutes. That is a design feature, not a limitation: a short-acting GHRH analogue produces a discrete pulse, which is what the somatotroph axis is built to respond to. Sustained elevation is the acromegaly pattern, and it is why the DAC-modified version of CJC-1295 is the one this library is most sceptical of. Ipamorelin's ~2 hours is longer but still pulse-shaped.

Everything downstream is IGF-1. GH itself is not the effector for most of what people want from this. The liver converts the GH signal into IGF-1, and IGF-1 is both the mediator and the monitoring marker — which is why the tesamorelin label asks for it to be measured, and why the standing growth-signalling caution applies to the combination more than to either component alone.

Insulin is the off switch. Elevated glucose and insulin blunt the pituitary response to a secretagogue. This is the mechanistic reason behind the fasted-dosing convention, and it is the one piece of protocol advice on this page that is not merely convention.

// What is in it

A blend is not a compound. It is several compounds sharing a vial, and each one carries its own evidence base, dose-response curve and risk profile. Study them individually before studying them together.

ComponentShare of blendRole in the blendMonograph link
Tesamorelin
TH9507, trans-3-hexenoyl-GRF(1-44)
10 mg vial, dosed separately GHRH receptor agonism — the accelerator. A stabilised GHRH(1-44) analogue with a half-life short enough to produce a pulse rather than a plateau, and the only component here with phase 3 data and an approved indication. Monograph
Ipamorelin
NNC 26-0161, selective GHS-R1a agonist
10 mg vial, dosed separately Ghrelin receptor agonism plus somatostatin suppression — releases the brake. Selective, so no meaningful cortisol or prolactin rise, unlike GHRP-6 and hexarelin. Monograph
Blend arithmetic

This is a co-administration, not a pre-mixed vial. Both are commonly supplied as separate 10 mg vials, which is the presentation this page assumes. That is a lot of peptide for this use: at 1 mg nightly a 10 mg tesamorelin vial is ten days, and at 250 mcg a 10 mg ipamorelin vial is forty. The two vials do not run out together, which is the first practical thing nobody plans for — you will be opening four tesamorelin vials for every one of ipamorelin, and the reconstituted ipamorelin will sit in the fridge well past any sensible in-use window before it is finished. Reconstituting a fraction of the ipamorelin at a time is the usual answer.

01 Reported benefits

Effects that have been reported. A study-tier entry means a result was published — not that the effect is established, reproducible, or transferable from a rodent to a person.

Highest confidenceReported in peer-reviewed literature, registered clinical trials, or regulatory filings. Note the model: much peptide literature is in vitro or rodent work, not human trial data.

GHRH + ghrelin co-stimulation produces a supra-additive GH pulse [1][2]

Established endocrine pharmacology: combined administration of a GHRH agonist and a ghrelin-receptor agonist produces GH responses two to three times greater than either alone, through the accelerator-plus-brake-release mechanism above. Among the blends here that have never been trialled as a combination, this is the strongest study-tier claim — though note that CagriSema outranks it outright, having been tested as a combination in humans through phase 3.

Clinical pharmacology

Tesamorelin reduces visceral adipose tissue — in one population, for one endpoint [3]

The approved indication, supported by phase 3 trials in HIV-associated lipodystrophy and the basis of the Egrifta label. It is the only outcome on this page with that level of evidence behind it, and the qualifier matters: a specific population, a specific fat compartment, a specific dose. Tesamorelin also modestly raises glucose, which is a labelled effect rather than a footnote.

Human · phase 3

Ipamorelin is selective in a way its predecessors were not [4]

No meaningful cortisol or prolactin elevation, unlike GHRP-6 and hexarelin. This is the reason ipamorelin displaced them in community use and the reason it is the sensible ghrelin-arm choice for a pairing like this.

Animal + early human

Timing changes the size of the pulse [5]

The largest natural GH release of the day occurs in roughly the first two hours of sleep, tied to slow-wave sleep. Administration during that physiological window produces higher peak GH than daytime administration. Note the limit of the comparison: the morning-versus-evening work showing comparable IGF-1 outcomes was done with exogenous GH replacement, which is a different proposition from amplifying an endogenous pulse, so it does not transfer cleanly to secretagogues.

Human · GH physiology

02 Adverse effects & risks

Adverse effects, contraindications and unknowns. The grey-market tier is where under-reporting is worst: uncontrolled use produces no systematic safety surveillance at all, so absence of a reported harm is not evidence of safety.

Highest confidenceReported in peer-reviewed literature, registered clinical trials, or regulatory filings. Note the model: much peptide literature is in vitro or rodent work, not human trial data.

Fluid retention, arthralgia and paraesthesia [3]

The labelled tesamorelin effects, and the same profile GH replacement produces. Dose-related and generally reversible on reduction.

Human · label

Increased blood glucose [3]

Tesamorelin raises glucose modestly, and this is on the label rather than being a theoretical concern. Anyone with impaired glucose tolerance or type 2 diabetes is combining that with a second compound acting on the same axis.

Human · label

Hypersensitivity and injection-site reactions [3]

Documented for tesamorelin, including rash and urticaria.

Human · label

03 Dosing ranges

Figures below are documented, not recommended. Study ranges come from published protocols in the stated model; grey-market ranges are what the research community reports using and carry no safety validation of any kind.

Highest confidenceReported in peer-reviewed literature, registered clinical trials, or regulatory filings. Note the model: much peptide literature is in vitro or rodent work, not human trial data.

Tesamorelin: 2 mg subcutaneously once daily (Egrifta) [3]

The original approved dose, into the abdomen with site rotation. Later formulations differ — Egrifta SV is 1.4 mg and Egrifta WR is 1.28 mg from an 11.6 mg vial reconstituted to 8 mg/mL — so "the tesamorelin dose" is not a single number and quoting one without the formulation is meaningless.

FDA label

The label does not specify a time of day [3]

Worth knowing, because the nightly convention is presented as though it were labelled practice. It is not. Evening dosing is a physiological argument rather than a regulatory one, and the guidance that exists says consistency of timing matters more than the specific hour.

FDA label

No combination dose has ever been studied

There is no trial of tesamorelin with ipamorelin, so every combined figure below is community convention built on the two single-agent profiles.

Evidence gap
The 10 mg + 10 mg vials do not run out together

At 1 mg nightly a 10 mg tesamorelin vial is ten days. At 250 mcg nightly a 10 mg ipamorelin vial is forty days — four times as long, and well beyond any sensible in-use window for a reconstituted peptide. Reconstituting the ipamorelin in fractions, or splitting it across several vials, is how this is usually handled. The calculator flags the long in-use period when it happens.

04 Synergy & interactions

Combination effects. Almost no peptide combination has been studied as a combination in humans; stack logic is overwhelmingly mechanistic inference and community practice. Each linked compound has its own page.

Highest confidenceReported in peer-reviewed literature, registered clinical trials, or regulatory filings. Note the model: much peptide literature is in vitro or rodent work, not human trial data.

Two-receptor co-stimulation is established pharmacology [1][2]

Genuine mechanistic evidence rather than inference — GHRH plus a ghrelin-receptor agonist produces two to three times the GH response of either alone. It is the strongest such case among the blends here that were never tested as a combination.

Clinical pharmacology

05 Protocols

Whole schedules — dosing, titration, cycle length, and off-time — as documented in trials, as proposed from mechanism, and as circulated in the research community. Reproduced for study and comparison only.

Highest confidenceReported in peer-reviewed literature, registered clinical trials, or regulatory filings. Note the model: much peptide literature is in vitro or rodent work, not human trial data.

No protocol has been studied

Tesamorelin has a labelled monotherapy regimen. The combination has none.

Evidence gap

05b When to take them, and what each schedule costs you

The three schedules people ask about are not equivalent, and the difference between them is not preference. One of them gives away the entire reason to pair these two compounds.

No approval, no trial

None of the schedules below has been studied for this combination. What follows reasons from the single-agent pharmacology — the co-administration synergy, the circadian GH pattern, and the insulin effect — to what each schedule can and cannot deliver. It is not a recommendation to run any of them.

Study-supported reasoning

Both together, at night — the strongest case

Pathophysiology
The largest natural GH release of the day occurs in roughly the first two hours of sleep, tied to slow-wave sleep. Administration inside that window produces higher peak GH than daytime dosing.

Mechanistic rationale
This schedule is the only one that collects both available advantages. You get the co-administration synergy — two to three times the GH response of either agent alone — and you get it on top of the natural nocturnal pulse rather than against a flat baseline. It is also the convention tesamorelin is conventionally dosed on, though note the label itself does not specify a time.

Community reports
The most commonly run schedule, and the one most associated with the improved-sleep reports. The recurring complaint is grogginess when the dose is taken too close to sleep.

Components carrying the argument: Both compounds, one injection window, fasted 2 h before bed

Theorized

Both together, in the morning — keeps the synergy, loses the tailwind

Pathophysiology
Morning dosing fires into a period with no natural pulse to amplify and, typically, higher somatostatin tone. The synergy between the two compounds is unaffected, because that depends on co-administration rather than on time of day.

Mechanistic rationale
The practical case is real and is usually undersold: a genuine fast is trivially easy on waking and difficult before bed, and since insulin blunts the pituitary response, a properly fasted morning dose may beat a poorly fasted evening one. It also removes any sleep interference. What it gives up is the circadian amplification — the same dose produces a lower peak outside the sleep window. Note the limit of the counter-evidence: work showing comparable outcomes from morning versus evening dosing was done with exogenous GH replacement, which is not the same thing as amplifying an endogenous pulse.

Community reports
Less common. Chosen most often by people who eat late, who found evening dosing disrupted sleep, or who dislike hunger from ipamorelin at bedtime.

Components carrying the argument: Both compounds, one injection window, fasted on waking

Theorized — and it forfeits the mechanism

Split — ipamorelin at night, tesamorelin in the morning

Pathophysiology
The supra-additive response depends on both receptors being engaged at once: the GHRH arm driving release while the ghrelin arm suppresses somatostatin. Separated by twelve hours, neither is present when the other acts.

Mechanistic rationale
This is the schedule to understand before choosing it, because it gives away the entire reason to pair these two compounds. Run apart, you get two independent single-agent pulses instead of one combined pulse two to three times larger. You are not splitting the effect in half; you are trading a documented synergy for two smaller separate events. The honest counter-argument: two pulses a day arguably resembles physiological secretion more closely than one large one, and pulsatility is a principle this library takes seriously elsewhere. But that is a theorised benefit set against a measured one, and if the pulsatility argument is what appeals, running both compounds together twice a day achieves it without giving up the synergy.

Community reports
Reported, usually justified on convenience — ipamorelin at night for sleep, tesamorelin in the morning to avoid stacking injections. The convenience is real; the pharmacological cost is rarely mentioned alongside it.

Components carrying the argument: Compounds separated by ~12 h — no co-administration

Mechanistic

What applies to all three

Pathophysiology
Insulin suppresses the pituitary response to a secretagogue regardless of the hour chosen.

Mechanistic rationale
Fasted state matters more than the clock. A dose given after a carbohydrate meal is a smaller dose in effect, whichever schedule it belongs to. The other constant is consistency: the guidance around tesamorelin timing is that regularity matters more than the specific hour, and switching schedules week to week gives up whatever advantage any of them has.

Community reports
Fasting is the protocol rule most often skipped and most likely to explain a non-response.

Components carrying the argument: Applies to every schedule above

ScheduleSynergy kept?Circadian pulse?The trade
Both, at nightYesYesNeeds a real fast before bed, which is the hard part
Both, in the morningYesNoLower peak, but a fast is easy and sleep is undisturbed
Split, 12 h apartNoPartial (ipamorelin only)Gives up the 2–3× synergy for convenience
Both, twice dailyYesPartialKeeps synergy and adds pulses; doubles exposure and cost
What actually has evidence for these conditions

The measurable thing is IGF-1, and it settles this argument better than reasoning does. Every schedule above is an inference from single-agent pharmacology, because the combination has never been studied. IGF-1 is the marker the approved half is monitored on, it is orderable through any GP or private lab, and it responds to total GH exposure across the day rather than to how the dose was arranged. Anyone genuinely trying to decide between these schedules has a way to find out which one works for them, and it costs less than a vial.

Worth stating plainly alongside that: for the outcomes people usually want from this pairing, the interventions with function data are sleep, progressive resistance training and adequate protein. The GH axis is an adjunct to those, and the ROMANA result — lean mass up, function unchanged — is the reason this library keeps saying so.

06 Handling, reconstitution & storage

Physical-chemistry reference for laboratory handling of the lyophilised material. Reproduced so that stability and concentration mathematics can be studied — see the calculator for the arithmetic and the reconstitution guide for sterile technique.

Reconstitution

Both are supplied lyophilised, commonly as 10 mg vials. Reconstituted with bacteriostatic water and drawn separately — this is a co-administration rather than a pre-mixed blend, so the two are not combined in one syringe unless someone chooses to, and compatibility between the two solutions is not characterised.

Storage

Lyophilised: refrigerated or frozen, protected from light. Reconstituted: refrigerated at 2–8 °C. Tesamorelin in particular is handled as a fragile peptide.

Common vial sizes

Commonly 10 mg each, supplied as two separate vials. Tesamorelin is also sold as licensed Egrifta presentations at defined strengths.

Stability notes

The practical problem is not stability but arithmetic: the ipamorelin vial outlasts the tesamorelin vial roughly four to one at typical doses, so the ipamorelin sits reconstituted far longer than the tesamorelin does.

07 Legal & regulatory status

Regulatory status changes and differs by country. This is a summary for orientation, not legal advice — check your own jurisdiction.

Half of this pairing is an approved drug and half is not, which is unusual for this library. Tesamorelin is approved as Egrifta for HIV-associated lipodystrophy and is prescription-only. Ipamorelin is not approved anywhere, and the FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted against including it on the Section 503A Bulks List on 29 October 2024.

The combination has no approval and no trial anywhere. Tesamorelin bought from a research supplier is the same molecule as the approved drug in name only — identity, purity and endotoxin content are unverified, and the label's monitoring requirements and contraindications were written for the pharmaceutical product.

Regulatory and trial claims re-checked against primary sources on 20 August 2026. Checked: the Egrifta label dose, formulation differences and the absence of a specified administration time; the GHRH plus ghrelin co-administration synergy; the circadian GH pulse and the limits of the morning-versus-evening replacement data. Approvals, trial readouts and compounding decisions move faster than anything else on this page — a date here means someone looked, not that nothing has changed since.

Anti-doping

Both components are on the WADA Prohibited List under S2 (peptide hormones, growth factors and related substances). GHRH analogues and growth hormone secretagogues are named explicitly. Any athlete subject to testing should treat this pairing as prohibited and verify against the current list.

§ Sources & further reading

Links resolve to PubMed records, trial registries, publisher pages or primary documents. Where a body of work rather than a single paper is cited, the link opens a PubMed query so the full result set — including newer papers than this page — can be reviewed. Verify every claim against the primary source before relying on it.

  1. Bowers CY, et al. Effect of combined administration of GH-releasing hormone and GH-releasing peptide in normal and obese subjects — synergistic GH response to co-administration.Human clinical study
  2. PubMed: GHRH and ghrelin-receptor agonist co-stimulation, somatostatin suppression and pulsatile GH release (live query)Review or meta-analysis
  3. FDA label: EGRIFTA / EGRIFTA SV / EGRIFTA WR (tesamorelin) — dosing, formulations, IGF-1 monitoring, glucose effect and contraindicationsRegulatory / official document
  4. PubMed: ipamorelin selectivity — GH release without cortisol or prolactin elevation (live query)Pre-clinical / animal study
  5. PubMed: growth hormone secretion, slow-wave sleep and the circadian pulse; morning versus evening administration (live query)Human clinical study
  6. US FDA — Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 29 October 2024: ipamorelin not recommended for the 503A Bulks ListRegulatory / official document
  7. WADA Prohibited List (current edition) — S2 peptide hormones, growth factors and related substancesRegulatory / official document
Reminder

For educational and research reference only. Nothing on this site is medical advice, a recommendation, or an instruction to administer any substance to a human being. Every figure on this page is a record of what has been reported, not a recommendation. Full disclaimer.